knitting · Uncategorized

For those about to knit, we salute you.

This week Bea and I have mostly hung around the house…mainly due to her aversion to wearing anything but a nappy and her wellies and she has the realisation that if I take her outside this may pull her away from the beloved trainset , how could I suggest such a thing! Bad mummy!

This has meant however that , certain projects are finally finished (see photos) I made a mitred square baby blanket, inverting the squares so they create a zig zag. This project is so fun, I couldn’t stop knitting! It also has an icord bind off which gave it a really neat edge, pattern to follow, keep an eye out in upcoming posts!

It’s a blanket due to york based charity ‘Bundles of joy’ they provide baby bundles for expectant parents who need a bit of extra support. That is of course if I can rescue the blanket from Bea who has deemed it appropriate for her baby doll’s pram.

I also finally worked out some random scribbles to create a little knit crown suitable for babies and toddlers, it’s cute , the perfect accompaniment to any outfit and a really quick knit 😊 these will be available soon from my etsy shop.

Bea and I have an exciting afternoon planned, Bea is going to her granny and grumpys house which is exciting for her as uncle Sam Β and IsaacΒ will be there and Bea loves nothing more than shouting “isaaaaaaac NO” at the top of her voice.

My afternoon Β is exciting for 2 reasons

1. A bea free afternoon, something that usually only happens once a week, however when it does I’m usually at a loss with what to do at that time (sleep/eat/knit/chores?)

2. Having something to do with a bea free afternoon ….A yarn dying class!!!

I’m excited I cannot wait do learn all about dying my own yarn, picking colours I love to create things in exactly the right colour way!

Although i’m not sure having a house with a toddler allows for yarn dying at home , stay tuned because one day I may have a woolly empire of my own. Β I’ve even thought about names, referencing my second love : John Hughes movies !

Just imagine, soft pink hues in a pretty skien with a dainty label that Β reads “pretty in pink”

Ahhh a girl can dream.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

